PDA

View Full Version : Windex to clean/flush pens?

caleath
May 8th, 2013, 02:38 PM
When I went to Houston a few weeks ago I was able to go into Dromgooles pen shop. I noticed they were using what looked like winded to clean the nibs etc on pens. I had seen mention that folks use a water ammonia mix for pen cleaning/flushing, isn't that what windex is? I had been using it already for a few months and love it! Anyone else use it for cleaning/flushing pens?

cwent2
May 8th, 2013, 02:48 PM
I use Windex, cause the wife doesn't have (pure) ammonia in the house - Have a small grand son in the house, so my wife won't get ammonia. Windex seems to work ok. I have also used bleach - water on a stubborn stain at the piston o ring area on a Noodler's Nib Creaper demo. Again seems to work - then flush with water.....

KrazyIvan
May 8th, 2013, 03:11 PM
I use the non sudsy ammonia. Bottle of it for $1 USD at the dollar store. I have read that Windex has other chemicals in it that you don't want in your pen. If it is true or not, I don't know. I chose to er on the side of caution.

piscov
May 8th, 2013, 03:18 PM
Just water ( cold or warm) and a ultrasonic bath on harder cases. The best way is ti take the nib and feed out and use water. I dont like using any chemicals products. I round brush is also useful to clean the ink windows. Just go to a gun shop and buy a barrel cleaning brush kit and you will be surprised by how useful it is...

D Armstrong
May 8th, 2013, 04:02 PM
Please, don't. Windex has other additives, some of which are very damaging to pens, especially vintage ones.

In fact, according to this 1991 article (http://cool.conservation-us.org/jaic/articles/jaic30-02-003.html) from the Journal of the American Institute for Conservation, the use of any ammonia in water can seriously speed up the degradation of celluloid.

To be fair, plastics have come a long way since celluloid, but I personally wouldn't risk Windex on pens, either mine or my customers'.

cwent2