PDA

View Full Version : Repair Noob with Questions on a Parker 51 Special

DrChumley
August 1st, 2013, 05:11 PM
Hey all,

So, I've never tried repairing a vintage pen before. However, last weekend I found a Parker 51 Special (Navy Gray) in PRISTINE cosmetic condition, box and docs intact, at a local antique store (for $10). It looks as though the pen was filled once and ever used again. Unfortunately, whatever ink they put in the pen decades ago can't be flushed out. I've been flushing the pen for six days now, and I just can't get the water to run clean. I've also been hesitant to use a Pen Flush on it, in case it reacts poorly with the plastic or the mechanism of the pen. I've come to the conclusion that the pen needs to be taken apart and cleaned far more thoroughly. The nib also needs a bit of work--looks as though it needs to be "flossed" and re-aligned.

Having never attempted a repair like this before, I've been doing a lot of reading...most of which is so filled with warnings about what not to do to screw things up that I'm almost afraid to try anything at all. Since the pen was so inexpensive, it wouldn't kill me to make a mistake, but I'd like to avoid it nevertheless. So, a few questions:

* In order to remove the hood, I take it I will need to use heat to soften the shellac. I have read that hot water could be used, but that it can also damage some materials. I have ordered a hair dryer (which tickles me to no end since I've been rocking the bald head for the last few years...) Should I attempt to use warm/hot water first? Is the hair dryer a better option?

* Once I get the hood off, and have made my adjustments, do I need to re-shellac the hood? What materials should I use to do that if it is necessary? Is there a way to keep the hood more easily removable for future servicing? (Frankly, if my experiences thus far are any indication, cleaning the ink out of this thing will be a nightmare. Makes me appreciate my TWSBI...)