Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Are expensive fountain pens better (performance, functionality)?

Thanks

Default Are expensive fountain pens better (performance, functionality)?

Hi!

I'm a complete newbie in this forum and to fountain pens, so if I'm breaking any rules or making any social faux-pas, sorry about that in advance.

I've bought and used several cheaper fountain pens (about $15), and wasn't really impressed about the performance (uneven ink and other technical issues). But then I've tried my dads old Montblanc 262, which I really liked. The thing is, I don't want to use it for work, because I'm afraid of losing it or breaking it (I don't know if it's worth a lot, but it has tremendous sentimental value). I wanted to buy a similar one, but found out they are really expensive (about $100?). And losing a $100+ pen now and then at work and replacing, isn't within my budget. So my questions are:

1) Is there a noticeable difference in performance between my cheap fountain pens and a Lamy safari or other pens, below $50.
    2) If you are only looking for functionality is there any value buying a $100 fountain pen, except for "feel" and design.

EDIT:
    Thanks for all your fast and insightful replies. I always find it fascinating when people share their personal experiences and perspectives.

I think I have to clarify some points. I want to use a fountain pen because:
    * I like the "feel" when I write with it, everything from the scratching sound on the paper, the smell of the ink, how the ink soaks up into the paper etc.
    * I like how fountain pen writing looks, I find that kind of text more expressive and interesting to look at.
    So it's not a pure issue of "putting ink to paper", then a ballpoint or gel pen is perhaps a more obvious choice.