Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Confused

Thanks

Default Confused

I am new to the world of fountain pens and I have decided to take the leap and buy an everyday writer for under $200. This pen will be used everyday for taking notes in college as well as general writing. I am 42 and just went back to school for a new degree, this lead to a discovery that I have carpel tunnel. The pens I have been that have caught my eye the most are the Sailor Pro Gear Slim and the Pelikan M205 and 215. I love the look of the Sailor and it writes like a dream I have read. I have also read that Sailor makes some of the smoothest nibs around. The Pelikans have many more options with buying the one pen. Such as changing the nibs, which is a great option. Can anyone help me with some advice as to which pen what be the better choice? Or for any great pen under $200?

Thanks

Default Re: Confused

I don't know much about carpel tunnel, but my guess is that slimmer pens will cause more discomfort. Is there any way you can get to a pen show or brick and mortar store to try gripping the pens before you decide on one?
    Sailor and Pelikan are both great, reliable brands. You won't go wrong with either of them. Another pen that fits your criteria is the Lamy 2000. Some love it, and some hate it, but it's one that deserves a look before you make a choice.
    Draw close. Hold hands. Life is short. God is good. - Jan Karon

3. The Following User Says Thank You to tiffanyhenschel For This Useful Post:

jay.is.here (September 6th, 2014)

Thanks
    Thanked 1,579 Times in 943 Posts