Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Do you clean your pen before selling?

Thanks

Default Do you clean your pen before selling?

I thought this might be interesting.

If you were buying a pen what condition would you expect to receive it in. I feel there is two scenarios and one rule here.

RULE You are buying a working pen.

SCENARIO 1 You buy from here or a similar environment where there is a community sense

SCENARIO 2 you buy from an anonymous place such as eBay.

I'm mainly concerned with should the pen have ink in it, be cleaned or flushed or just ink pushed out of it and your left to flush it all if you want to change inks.

I've had some interesting experiences and I wanted to hear others thoughts

Thanks

Default Re: Do you clean your pen before selling?

From eBay, I have no expectations except as stated otherwise, sales from this forum I would hope the pens are clean. Thankfully this has been my experience thus far.

Thanks

I stopped selling goods on eBay as the double-dipping that eBay does (eBay charges, you're forced to use PayPal, and then PayPal charges...) made selling pretty much not worth it. But I always felt that I should deliver goods in the best state possible; so that would mean cleaning a pen before selling it.

Personally I wouldn't like it receiving a pen inked up (it will rarely ever be the ink of my choice after all), but as Neo stated, I have no expectations lest I'd be disappointed. Over the years I've received various goods whose "good condition" was definitely not my definition of "good," but I digress...

4. The Following User Says Thank You to Bart Willems For This Useful Post:

Neo (January 1st, 2015)

Thanks
    Thanked 3,793 Times in 1,644 Posts

I've spent days making sure a pen is as clean as possible before selling it. I've only received one or two that had any evidence of having been inked. That said, I buy no vintage pens and just a few used ones from pen forums.
    "Nolo esse salus sine vobis ...” —St. Augustine