PDA

View Full Version : mechanical pencil for navigtion

miatapaul
January 21st, 2015, 10:10 AM
Hello I am buying a sailboat, and want to get a good mechanical pencil for marking charts. It will be used along a parallel rule (basically a ruler) so I don't even know what to look for. I want to keep it in at the most $20 range, and will be permanently located on the nav station, so it will be seen in a pencil holder so I would like it to look nice as well as perform well. I see some with automatically rotating lead, what does that do? Oh and corrosion resistance would be nice, it will not likely get wet, but there is a lot of salt in the air. I have been using exclusively fountain pens for a couple of years now.

I have not even thought of pencils since my mechanical drawing classes in High School.

Bart Willems
January 21st, 2015, 11:17 AM
(...)It will be used along a parallel rule (basically a ruler) so I don't even know what to look for. (...)

Why not start with pencils to figure out what it is that you're looking for? Wide lead? Narrow? Various degrees of hardness?

Ever since technical drawing in college I've stuck to a Caran d'Ache fixpencil with 2mm leads (with sandpaper you can grind them into a much sharper point than a .5mm lead). Aluminium body, brass "mechanism," and the 1920s design has never been changed so it has this nice retro feel to it. YMMV though; a lot of people don't like it.

Empty_of_Clouds
January 21st, 2015, 05:13 PM
Autopoint, double ended, vintage pencil. Used by pilots I believe. Red lead at one end and black at the other. Loads of them about on eBay for about $15.

miatapaul
January 21st, 2015, 07:59 PM
Autopoint, double ended, vintage pencil. Used by pilots I believe. Red lead at one end and black at the other. Loads of them about on eBay for about $15.

my father is a dentist, and I think he uses one of these to mark his charts! (he is 84 and still practicing)

Laura N
January 21st, 2015, 08:14 PM