PDA

View Full Version : paper notebook question

petersalazar
February 12th, 2015, 02:37 PM
Question from a non fountain pen user for all you notebook aficionados.

I'm new to paper notebooks—I'm switching from journaling and notetaking on my laptop and trying to write as much as possible longhand.

I'm trying out different notebooks. I tried the Leuchtturm Whitelines, and while it's a beautiful book, I found the paper to be a bit... slippery? Fast? The Leuchtturm's smoother, harder paper made my pen glide too quickly over the paper, making my handwriting too messy.

So far I love Moleskine because of the paper, which I'd describe as... soft? Maybe even a little absorbent?

The pen I'm trying out is the Uniball Jetstream RT Retractable Bold Point in blue, and it works so beautifully with the Moleskine paper, partly because the softness of the Moleskine seems to slow down my pen's glide, allowing me to write more neatly, do nice little handwriting flourishes, and make my scribbled notes look like little works of art.

I've seen people complain that Moleskines are bad for fountain pens, and I suspect that's the exact thing I love about the Moleskin paper... its softness and the way it slows my pen and accepts the ink. I only write on one side of the page anyway.

1. Does anyone know what I'm talking about? What do you call this quality? The softness of the paper? The roughness?

2. What other notebooks should I check out given that that's the kind of paper I like? My ideal notebook is light, large (maybe even as big as 8.5x11), and has a dot grid instead of ruled lines.

Thanks!

tandaina
February 12th, 2015, 03:15 PM
If you like Moleskine (I cannot stand the feathering of my ink, hate it) then maybe try Field Notes? I found them just as unusable as Moleskine. But it sounds like you are using a rollerball anyway, not a fountain pen so they should work as well as the Moleskine.

erpe
February 12th, 2015, 10:13 PM