PDA

View Full Version : Sam's unusual ink reviews

Sammyo
February 17th, 2015, 05:49 PM
OK, so here is the preamble...

I was a long time fountain pen user, but I was a newbie to the world of real fountain pen madness...

A member of this forum took me under their wing and gave me some ink samples to help truly ingratiate me into this world (not named for obvious reasons!). They asked me what colours I was interested in trying and I said brown-y, red-y, orange-y colours. I was about to adventure outside of Quink / Cross black, blue and blue-black... I was in a new world. So as I inked up pens and used the inks I started to also give them feedback about how I felt about each ink through personal messages. As they gave me the inks, it was not an ink review about colours, dry times, shading, feathering, bleed through, etc... it was about how they made me feel and how I liked them or not. They are typically very short and casual in nature.

As part of the conversation, the person said that they enjoyed and were entertained by my ramblings. So offhand I said I thought about posting them here, but I was unsure and a bit embarrassed as they are not your typical review, just my personal feelings about the inks. The person said "Don't be shy about posting them in the Ink Reviews forum. Let other people enjoy them too!"... so, here we are... do not expect in depth details about how an ink behaves or works with different papers, but whimsical, light hearted feelings about the ink. Also be aware that they are in chronological order of how they were inked up and I have not posted the responses, so if anything seems off or odd this may be the reason. They pick up steam as I get more relaxed able to be myself.

So let us begin...

Sammyo
February 17th, 2015, 05:51 PM
Diamine Ox Blood
Pen: Cross Century II, US <M> nib