PDA

View Full Version : Please help in identifying what Montblanc this is?

Ryliko
March 9th, 2015, 04:27 AM
I have absolutely no clue what this is... any help please?

My knowledge with MB pens is very limited to begin with - being a newbie with their fountain pens and this forum (hello!). I only recently surged in interest when I decided to delve into the world of the 149 and I was hoping that this is one of them... but then I noticed the cap is squarish which is uncommon to the 149's. Additionally, it looks a bit slender for a 149 but I'm not even going to attempt to guess further what this pen is as I figure it leans towards more the vintage spectrum of Montblancs (a topic to which I have zero knowledge about).

I tried to do a google image search to which I came up short. I'm hoping now that your knowledgeable minds could help me out? :)

I also apologise for the picture quality, it's the only one that the seller included. I might go and take a look later to which I can take clearer and more detailed pics of it but I was hoping to have an idea whether it is of any interest to even make the trip?

Thanking everyone in advance!

Chrissy
March 9th, 2015, 05:15 AM
It's definitely not a 149.

Looking at that nib, it's some sort of vintage model and I don't know much about vintage Montblanc's.

The nib looks bent at the tip although that could be the photo.

FredRydr
March 9th, 2015, 06:12 AM
The poor-quality photo makes it difficult to identify, but it appears to be an early 252 or 254 with a clear (not blue) ink window.

Fred

jar
March 9th, 2015, 06:12 AM
It's a 25x, the x depends on the length (http://fpgeeks.com/forum/showthread.php/1523-50s-Montblanc-144-254-and-264?p=13820&viewfull=1#post13820). The 25x series are some of the nicest nibs MB ever produced but the series did suffer from cap lip cracks. If you can find one without cracks it will be a jewel.

Ryliko
March 9th, 2015, 06:55 AM
Thank you all for your speedy responses.