PDA

View Full Version : I may have blundered.

Mark9117
April 12th, 2015, 01:29 PM
Here's the thing: I sniped on a pen that I had some doubts about. I'm looking for a project pen and I have zero experience at this sort of thing. Everybody has to start somewhere, right?

So I wound up winning the pen and probably paying too much for it. Not a big deal, it was less than $50 USD. I can afford that even if I wind up destroying the pen.

I haven't received the pen yet and it may look better in person. Here is a link for reference.

http://ebay.com/itm/261843592679

If you look at it, you can see that the plunger cap does not sure down flush to the end of the barrel. The seller points that out very clearly. I'm thinking that a seal or other piece that is a little oversized has been installed somewhere in the plunger mechanism, something has come loose and settled against the end of the section, or something else that might be easily remedied through a basic teardown of the pen.

Again, zero experience with this.

Questions for the experts: am I way off base with these suppositions?

Is this a known issue with piston fillers that you've seen before?

Am I in way over my head on this thing?

Have I selected a really poor subject for my first attempt at fountain pen rescue?

And finally, can someone identify this thing? I'm guessing a late '30's Crest 1500 maybe?

Any help appreciated.

Mark

mhosea
April 12th, 2015, 01:48 PM
Well, I wouldn't have paid that much, and even after restoring several dozen vintage pens, I still don't attempt Sheaffer plunger fillers. However, it looks restorable to me. I don't see why it wouldn't clean up pretty well. I wonder if the blind cap issue is just that the retaining collar for the blind cap is partially unscrewed.

At any rate, this is probably one to set aside until your skills catch up to it.

Scrawler
April 12th, 2015, 01:48 PM
I can't help, but that will be a really nice pen when you have restored it.

tandaina