PDA

View Full Version : My first Lamy has arrived

Laurie
April 15th, 2015, 04:39 PM
I havent used a fountain pen since I was a school student and that was a long long time ago. I decided to renew my fountain pen experience and after much googling I decided the Lamy Al Star was a good entry pen. I also ordereed 3 cheap JinHao X 450 pens as spares and I can dedicate them to a certain colour ink. Well the Lamy arriveed. Love the thickness as I have quite big hands. Weight was really well balanced and my finger sat well around the grip area. I came with a M nib which was a bit light for me and also I noted it tended to skip a bit on long sideway strokes. I ordered an extra nib which was a B so I swapped them around and found the B nib just perfect. The beauty of a fountain pen for me is that it improves my handwriting as you seem to write slower than with biros. I am very happy with my choice. I am now waiting on some good notebooks I ordered and some fancy inks (Herbin Bleu Pervenche and Diamine Burnt Sienna) Just love those two colours.

tandaina
April 15th, 2015, 04:46 PM
The skipping and light ink on the M make me think it *may* have a bit of baby-bottom. There are some good tutorials on diagnosing and fixing nib issues and those cheap swappable Lamy nibs are good ones to learn on. Oops, that might be another rabbit hole... *walks away whistling innocently.*

Laurie
April 15th, 2015, 05:31 PM
The skipping and light ink on the M make me think it *may* have a bit of baby-bottom. There are some good tutorials on diagnosing and fixing nib issues and those cheap swappable Lamy nibs are good ones to learn on. Oops, that might be another rabbit hole... *walks away whistling innocently.*

Hi Tandaina,