PDA

View Full Version : Waterman 92

wangminze
April 26th, 2015, 11:56 PM
Hey guys, this is my first post hooray! (other than the intro post)

I'm pretty new to fountain pens and this is my first vintage flex, and lever filler.

Recently I bought this Waterman 92 with #2 nib for $70. Was this worth it?
Do you guys have any info on this one?

It does some great flexing but I'm having some problems with the nib. I looked at it and found that the tines were sometimes a bit off but I could push them back together. I think I somehow misaligned the nib and feed.

Another question is do vintage pens drip like crazy under the slightest shake? Mine always makes a mess if I'm not careful.

Thanks.

Pictures:
1) From ebay seller
2) Misalignment
Rest) Other pics of pen

Scrawler
April 27th, 2015, 06:27 AM
Hello wangminze, nice to meet you. That is a lovely pen. If I were in the market for such a pen, I would not balk, at the price, but "worth" is a personal value. Do you consider it worth it? It is not uncommon for fine flex nibs to become slightly misaligned, and sometime press against each other in such a way that one holds the other up. To find out if they are misaligned, use a X30 magnifier and look at the tines end on, with the tines in a natural relaxed state. If one is slightly higher than the other you can gently lift the lower tine to meet it. With flexible nibs any scratchiness you may feel with the nib unflexed, will go away when you press ever so slightly. If the feed is misaligned with the nib, it needs to be knocked out and refitted. If you do not have experience, don't do that yourself. It is the kind of thing that is easily done when it is resacced. Is it possible for you to post close-ups of the nib and feed? Also it helps if you reduce the image size slightly so that we do not have to scroll to see all of it.

wangminze
April 27th, 2015, 08:38 AM
Thanks for your help Scrawler.