PDA

View Full Version : What Pelikan 400?

Laurie
May 7th, 2015, 07:30 PM
I am a newbie and have a small collection of medium quality pens the best of which are a Platinum 3776 Century and a Sheaffer Targa.
I have received some good advice to sit back and work out my next pen. My present thoughts (with a recommendation from a member) are for a Pelikan 400. My budget would be around $150-$200. So I assume I would be looking at a vintage pen for that price. I recently read some comments on the Pelican 400 nibs and I seem to recall the poster mentioning some earlier Pelikans had superior nibs. I am not sure and just cant find the post.
Any thoughts and suggestions would be most appreciated.

Hawk
May 7th, 2015, 10:49 PM
I feel they are great pens. On the pens I own, the nibs are great. Being a piston filler, they hold quite a bit of ink. I have found that, on occasion, the pen burps ink if one 'thumps' ones hand down on the paper, even lightly. I imagine it is due to the design of the feed. Also, the gold on the clips seem to wear more than some other vintage pens.

Laurie
May 7th, 2015, 11:20 PM
Thanks Hawk, Are the piston fillers reliable on the vintage models. Also I didnt ask originally but since I have read some good reviews on the M. 200. Whilst it only has a steel nib that doesnt really worry me as my readings and research indicate that there is not that much difference between a good gold and a good steel nib.

Jon Szanto
May 8th, 2015, 12:49 AM
The contemporary M200 bear about as much resemblance to a vintage 400 series as an ass to an elbow.

i.e. no comparison.