PDA

View Full Version : Dating Skrip Bottles?

inkyletters
May 7th, 2015, 09:10 PM
Hello all!
As some of you may know my day job is student archaeologist. My latest independent research project I'm undertaking (for those of you keeping track the homestead project is just short a final write up for an article to be published and final artifact curation) is to work on the campus dig that is student run. We are excavating a turn of the century trash dump and we have a host of bottles that I'm trying to determine if there are settlement patterns or specific socio-economic indicators.
Unsurprisingly, we have found a couple intact or mostly intact bottles of Sheaffer Skrip. I was curious is anyone could point me to a resource to try to date these? I have a pile of books about medicine bottles and cosmetics jars but nothing about ink and obviously I'm most interested in those.

Sailor Kenshin
May 8th, 2015, 07:07 AM
Hello all!
As some of you may know my day job is student archaeologist. My latest independent research project I'm undertaking (for those of you keeping track the homestead project is just short a final write up for an article to be published and final artifact curation) is to work on the campus dig that is student run. We are excavating a turn of the century trash dump and we have a host of bottles that I'm trying to determine if there are settlement patterns or specific socio-economic indicators.
Unsurprisingly, we have found a couple intact or mostly intact bottles of Sheaffer Skrip. I was curious is anyone could point me to a resource to try to date these? I have a pile of books about medicine bottles and cosmetics jars but nothing about ink and obviously I'm most interested in those.

I'm pretty sure I saw just such a thread on FPN. If I can find it again I will link it.

Are the labels intact? If so, what color are they? Do the bottles have an inkwell? That will help date them, too. (I have a small collection of Skrip bottles).