PDA

View Full Version : Learning a Foreign Language

Quantum Sailor
May 17th, 2015, 03:04 PM
I've been learning Japanese off and on for a few years now and recently found that fountain pens work great for practicing the writing. I think I got the idea to try it from the post of another member. So I wanted to find out if other people are learning foreign languages and if we happen to be learning the same languages we could try a letter/email/whatever exchange to practice. I know there are some sites dedicated to such endeavors but I thought it couldn't hurt to start one here as well.

Sailor Kenshin
May 17th, 2015, 05:26 PM
I've been learning Japanese off and on for a few years now and recently found that fountain pens work great for practicing the writing. I think I got the idea to try it from the post of another member. So I wanted to find out if other people are learning foreign languages and if we happen to be learning the same languages we could try a letter/email/whatever exchange to practice. I know there are some sites dedicated to such endeavors but I thought it couldn't hurt to start one here as well.

Heh...I've been struggling with Japanese myself for far too long than I care to mention. While I can write some kana, I'm terrible at writing kanji, especially the ones with eight or more strokes.

Quantum Sailor
May 17th, 2015, 06:08 PM
I just learned how to switch my keyboard on my mac to the various alphabets. So that has made some more interesting possibilities open up. Like surfing the web in japan.

ethernautrix
May 17th, 2015, 06:17 PM
I have been learning Polish. Wow, it's hard. Sometimes, a friend will tell me a word, and I'll just make sounds, obviously goofing around, and then I'll be told, "Perfect!" Then I'm all... what sounds did I just make? How are they spelled?! Usually, though, I'll try to repeat the word(s)... and then have to try five or six times before I'm close.