PDA

View Full Version : BulowX79 Fountain Pen Review

Fountain Pen Mike
July 6th, 2015, 02:44 PM
Hello there!
I am new to fountain pens, and on a limited budget. So what I have been doing is shopping xfountainpens.com's clearance section. I purchased their Bulow X30 a while back, and it turned out to be a wonderful pen. Writes beautifully and smoothly, little to no skipping, no hard starts, etc.
So I purchased another of those, but also saw their Bulow X79 Palais Plaid Hooded Fine Nib Fountain Pen, and thought, "why not give that a try"?
I suspect it is the same nib as in the X30, which I absolutely love.
Below is a pic of the two pens I purchased, with the X79 in the forefront.

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-jH9NdvSrPwM/VYh1GESd0SI/AAAAAAAAFWk/kHGzJjjahHo/s800/100_2407.JPG

I think they are both quite attractive pens, especially at the price point. Both have metal bodies, so though not heavy, have what I think is a good weight to them. The Palais' plaid finish IMO is gorgeous. There is one tiny flaw in the finish. I suspect there is a basecoat of gold lacquer, over which different transparent colors are overlaid to achieve this finish. Similar to the Candy Apple finishes on many custom automobiles. There is one tiny spot where it looks like a small speck of the top coats flaked off, leaving the gold finish underneath exposed. If you look closely you can see that below.

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-j1avpsXfr9I/VYh1Fggn2OI/AAAAAAAAFWc/VFbvKKe5Bmo/s800/100_2406.JPG

It's a small thing, and at this price point I don't have a problem with it.
I have had this pen now since the 27th of June, or thereabouts. Some background on how the pen is used.