PDA

View Full Version : Can you give ink more sheen?

jbb
July 6th, 2015, 02:54 PM
Is there anything that you can add to give fountain pen ink more sheen?

Laura N
July 7th, 2015, 08:58 AM
Okay, I am no sheen expert, to put it mildly, but I feel bad there are no answers yet. :)

I've noticed that I see more sheen with wetter, broader nibs that put down more ink, and with paper like Tomoe River that is more coated and less absorbent. So, just throwing possibilities out there, I think if I wanted more sheen I might experiment with adding a bit of dish soap or Photo-flo or other lubricant.

And since I've found that sometimes trying the exact opposite of what you think is what ends up working with ink, maybe I'd see what happens if I let some of the ink evaporate a little before filling the pen.

Really, it is my hope that these WAGs will smoke out someone who actually knows what she or he is talking about. :)

tiffanyhenschel
July 7th, 2015, 09:05 AM
Okay, I am no sheen expert, to put it mildly, but I feel bad there are no answers yet. :)

I've noticed that I see more sheen with wetter, broader nibs that put down more ink, and with paper like Tomoe River that is more coated and less absorbent. So, just throwing possibilities out there, I think if I wanted more sheen I might experiment with adding a bit of dish soap or Photo-flo or other lubricant.

And since I've found that sometimes trying the exact opposite of what you think is what ends up working with ink, maybe I'd see what happens if I let some of the ink evaporate a little before filling the pen.

Really, it is my hope that these WAGs will smoke out someone who actually knows what she or he is talking about. :)
I don't have time to go look for it right now, but I seem to remember reading a thread on FPN about this. They were testing various inks by leaving them to evaporate for a while. Some of them developed nice sheen.

Special K
July 12th, 2015, 08:54 PM