PDA

View Full Version : Help a new guy out, please?

Briankp
July 6th, 2015, 08:35 PM
I am pretty much brand-new to this hobby and I only thought that the pen made the difference. Now I know that I also need some good notebooks to go with my pens so I am coming to you fine folks for suggestions, please! There are too many choices!
To help a bit: I am a full-time college student (English Major) so I write. A lot. Also, as is expected with being a college student/full-time single dad, I'd prefer to not drop a ton of money on notebooks if I can avoid it.

Pleas help. Thank you!

Quantum Sailor
July 6th, 2015, 09:01 PM
One thing you'll find out about paper is the pen and ink you use matters as much as the paper. If you go to target and wal-mart especially near the beginning of school you'll find a bunch of super cheap, 50 cent to a dollar cheap, composition notebooks. Not all of my pens work well on these but enough do that I use them quite a bit. Though I usually am unable to use both sides of a page.

I also just can't seem to put enough value in what I write down to justify spending over 1.00 on the paper I put it on so I find the cheapest notebooks I can find that still work. There are some really good composition books in the 2 - 3.00 range as well if the paper is just too cheap for you.

Briankp
July 6th, 2015, 09:07 PM
One thing you'll find out about paper is the pen and ink you use matters as much as the paper. If you go to target and wal-mart especially near the beginning of school you'll find a bunch of super cheap, 50 cent to a dollar cheap, composition notebooks. Not all of my pens work well on these but enough do that I use them quite a bit. Though I usually am unable to use both sides of a page.