PDA

View Full Version : Sherwood green

Blastmaster1972
July 22nd, 2015, 09:51 AM
I'm quite new to this ink buisiness (up till now all I used was Parker Quink Blue cartridges and Pelikan 4001 Königsblau cartridges)

But, now that I have some convertor and piston filled pens, I wanted to try something new.

Sherwood Green was a colour that caught my eye, after browsing the interwebs a bit. But it seems that there are two brands that have this colour, Diamine and Private Reserve.

Which one would you choose? Are there people here who have tried both, and have a preference for one of the 2 brands?

Thanks in advance for your help,

Kind regards,

Jos

FredRydr
July 22nd, 2015, 09:55 AM
I would choose Diamine, only because years ago I was given Sherwood Green and re-gave it not long after. Damn if I can remember why, but I didn't like it. How's that for a reason?:confused:

Fred

naimitsu
July 22nd, 2015, 10:06 AM
Typically, I would go for a Diamine ink before a Private Reserve ink. The main reason for this is that I have had issues with Private Reserve inks. A number of their inks have made a wet, smooth writer into a skippy monster. They have some fantastic colors, but Private Reserve is in the same boat as Noodler's for me. Fantastic colors, ugly formulation.

Other brands to look at are J. Herbin, Pilot Iroshizuku, Pelikan (both 4001 and Edelstein formulations), standard line Montblanc, and de Atramentis. Those brands are ones I have been favoring lately and are typically well behaved.

Also, if you like Sherwood Green, check out Rohrer & Klingner Verdura. It is a very nice, vibrant green.