PDA

View Full Version : The Great Ink Surprise, What Ink Surprised You MOST?

JoeTxMarine
October 8th, 2012, 08:34 AM
I'm just wondering, what ink did you not really expect to like; say in a sample, but you were blown away after using it first or few times and fell in love with?

I'm new to Fountain Pens and have been ordering lots of samples. I am hoping to gain insight from this in terms of expectations from say high vs. less expensive or what I consider plain (like a brown) vs vibrant (like Purple) colors.

Plus it'll be fun!! :)

KrazyIvan
October 8th, 2012, 09:04 AM
Hey Joe, I really did not expect to like brown inks but they give a certain old world charm to my writing that I like.

jar
October 8th, 2012, 09:57 AM
About 50 year old Waterman Black cartridges. Almost totally dried out so added a little tap water and they seem to be working flawlessly.

Ordinal
October 8th, 2012, 10:36 AM
I didn't expect to like Waterman Violet - it looked much too bright, I previously preferred more dusky purples like J Herbin Poussiere de Lune - but it has become one of my favourite inks now. It has the great flow and reliability of Waterman inks generally, combined with decent shading and a colourful but not garish tone.

snedwos
October 8th, 2012, 11:10 AM
Noodler's El Lawrence. I opened the sample vial and my immediate thought was: "Ugh, I am not putting this evil-smelling oily gunk in my pens!" I tested it with a dip pen and thought it looked interesting, so I threw all caution to the winds and loaded it up into a wide nibbed italic pen (with little water) and was blown away. I really love the warm olivey (?) grey.

inky
October 8th, 2012, 11:16 AM