PDA

View Full Version : Wanting to Learn Calligraphy for the Absolute Beginner...

aGuyWhoTypes
October 24th, 2015, 10:07 AM
Where do I go?

Any good video or book series?

I want to eventually turn this into my job.

Thanks.

Wile E Coyote
October 24th, 2015, 01:40 PM
You could start with a book called "Write Now." Covers everything from everyday printing and cursive to italics. You can also try the IAMPETH website for the more elaborate hands.

Ken Fraser (caliken) used to have videos online but they seem to have been taken down. You can check his website (http://www.kenfrasercalligrapher.com/) for different styles.

nospam666
October 24th, 2015, 02:54 PM
I concur on starting with "Write Now" by Dubay and.... I forgot the coauthor.

It's a workbook for adults that teaches the cursive italic style. This is (or was, I'm not sure if they still use it) the style of handwriting they taught Italian schoolchildren.

aGuyWhoTypes
October 24th, 2015, 03:47 PM
I heard someone on youtube that said it's good to start with foundation calligraphy. What say you all?

Oh and what about just writing good clean cursive? I've seen some "regular" handwriting that is quite stunning.

nospam666
October 24th, 2015, 09:27 PM
I think writing a good clean cursive is a different goal from wanting to do calligraphy.

In my mind, calligraphy means you want to learn multiple styles of lettering and do them all by hand. Writing everyday cursive well implies that you just want to learn one style and do it as best you can.

I like mango pudding
October 24th, 2015, 10:42 PM
I taught myself by simply googling images of italic calligraphy and found the style that I liked and then traced the letters over and over again. I did this for several weeks and with various pens till I got comfortable writing without the exemplar underneath.

Laurie
October 26th, 2015, 05:26 PM