PDA

View Full Version : Moleskine Issues

MrClockWork
November 9th, 2012, 09:19 PM
I have been using Moleskine journals exclusivley for about 5 years now and I am just getting into fountain pens. Up until this point I have been using ball points and roller balls but once I switched to a fountain pen I an having HUGE feathering and bleed through issues. I used my new Pilot 78G Fine tonight and I was even having issues big enough to notice with a pen that fine. I have another small Moleskine and a Rhodia note pad that I use at work and I am not having any issues with them at all. In your experience, is there that much of a quality control issue with Moleskine? I have to not finish a journal but this one is about to have the finished pages ripped out and put into a new Rhodia. Gotta use these new fountain pens!

wayne.robinson
November 10th, 2012, 01:13 AM
Moleskine journals are not fountain pen friendly at all. The only ink I've used without much bleed through consistently are the iron gall inks from Rohrer & Klinger, Montblanc and Akkerman.

manoeuver
November 11th, 2012, 06:49 AM
Moleskine paper is hit or miss, historically mostly miss. Some people report better results lately but generally its a no go for tour fountain pens.

John the Monkey
November 12th, 2012, 01:09 AM
Other than the limited editions, Moleskine's paper is poor, especially at a premium price!

If you're carrying on with them, fine nibs, and dry-ish inks (Pelikan Blue/Black) for example will be fine.

Inkyjournal rates inks on the basis of Moleskine friendliness, search on their "100% Moleskine Friendly" tag.

http://inkyjournal.blogspot.co.uk/search/label/100%25%20Moleskine-proof%20ink

dannzeman
November 12th, 2012, 11:52 AM