PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Chicago

R.A. Stewart
February 29th, 2016, 11:55 AM
Greetings all--

I've written with fountain pens off and on since high school (which, as I'm 65, is a long time). Right now I have a couple of Parker UK Duofolds (a Maxima Oversize and an early 50s, I think, button-fill italic) and a Duke that Teri of Peyton Street Pens sent along as a lagniappe when I ordered the Maxima. The second pen seems to have developed some issues, and I have joined FPG in part to learn more about how to deal with those and to better care for my pens generally.

I'm obviously not a major or high-end collector :) so probably won't be as active here as some. I do have my eye on a couple more acquisitions in the future, such as a Parker 51 (because if you like Parkers, shouldn't you have a 51?) and something large with a more flexible nib than I have on my current pens.

In my non-pen life I'm a librarian, sometime writer, very occasional amateur musician, and language nut, and live with my wife and some of my kids on the North Side of Chicago.

~Rich

Anne
February 29th, 2016, 12:04 PM
Welcome Rich! Yes, a Parker 51 is a Must! :)
And you don't have to be a major collector to be appreciated and active with this forum. Enjoy!

Laura N
February 29th, 2016, 12:06 PM
Hi Rich!

If you can, you should come to our meetup on Sunday, April 10 at noon at Old Orchard. More details here (http://fpgeeks.com/forum/showthread.php/15200-Pre-Chicago-Pen-Show-Meetup). Many of us are Parker fans even! I'll bring some 51s for you to see, if you'd like.

The Chicago Pen Show is at the end of April, too. It's really fun and we get together there, too.

PM me with your email if you'd like to be on our little group's list.

-Laura

Silverbreeze
February 29th, 2016, 12:12 PM
Greetings all--