PDA

View Full Version : Best blue ink that won't feather

SeminarianMike
April 9th, 2016, 08:00 AM
Hello fellow FP geeks! I need some help... Looking for a good ink that will resist feathering. Something for cheap paper. Being a student I am forced to write on cheap paper fairly regularly. I of course use an EF nib, but I really dislike black ink. Is there a ink that is blue but has anti feathering qualities. If not I was thinking maybe a fast drying ink might do the trick? What are your thoughts on the matter...

God Bless You! Michael W. Howard

stub
April 9th, 2016, 08:20 AM
Platinum Blue-Black is iron gall.

Platinum and Sailor both make nano carbon inks.

Iron Galls and Carbon inks will do better on paper with less sizing.

As for regular dye inks:

Off the top of my head, Waterman Fl Blue does better on crappy paper than does Visconti or Iroshizuku Asa-Gao

Sailor Kenshin
April 9th, 2016, 12:00 PM
What about reg'lar ol' Skrip Blue?

SeminarianMike
April 9th, 2016, 01:39 PM
I'm going to try waterman Florida/Serenity blue see how that goes I keep coming across people saying it performs well on cheap paper

God Bless You! Michael W. Howard

Pterodactylus
April 9th, 2016, 02:24 PM
I also would recommend an iron gall ink.
They perform extraordinary well on cheap paper.
You can almost write on toilet paper with them.

I can recommend especially ESS Registrars Blue-Black or Rohrer&Klingner Salix and Scabiosa.
All 3 are extremely well behaving and need no more maintenance than other inks.

nickmazure
April 12th, 2016, 09:20 AM
Waterman Mysterious Blue is a light blue-black, so it might be acceptable to you, and it behaves very well on copy paper. As others have said, S&K Salix and Platinum Blue-Black are both iron-gall inks that behave exceptionally well. Finally, the regular Pilot Blue (i.e., non-Iroshizuku) is also a well-behaved blue, though the color is a bit bland.