PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a New Pen- Need Advice

redlethe
January 19th, 2013, 05:09 PM
Hi all! I'm new around these parts. >_> To be perfectly honest, I don't know that much about fountain pens. At least, not when it comes to differences between brands, quality, etc. So I need some help.

Y'see, I'm an artist. I do comics (i.e. http://rlfcomic.com ) and occasionally illustration (i.e. http://fav.me/d4sy7ed ). I've got a favorite pen already for detail- Tachikawa School pens. However, I'm looking for something for more line variation and the capacity to make really bold lines. In short, I'm looking for a pen that has-
1. Flex or semi flex nib
2. Is affordable (under $50)
3. Preferably has a cartridge system.

I have tried a Noodler flex pen. I like the lines I can get with it, but having to clean everything after I use it can be a real pain. Hence my desire for a cartridge system. Also I always have to jostle it around to get it to work in the first place.

Honestly, I'd even settle for a pen body and swapping out the nib if I knew the two were compatible. Any advice would be much appreciated.

Addendum: I would be fine with a pump system if I didn't have to thoroughly clean it after every use.

snedwos
January 19th, 2013, 05:15 PM
I don't see what you mean about having to clean everything after you use it... When you run out of ink you'd have to clean it out in order to change colour, and every few weeks even if you're sticking with one ink. But that would also be true of a cartridge pen, except you'd have to do it more often, since cartridges don't last very long (esp with flex).

Ahab sounds about right for you, if you get a good one (they can be unreliable).

snedwos
January 19th, 2013, 05:20 PM
If not, check here (www.fountainpenrevolution.com) for cartridge/converter pens with flex nibs.

redlethe
January 19th, 2013, 06:02 PM