PDA

View Full Version : Help me i'm obsessed!!!!

Toffer
January 28th, 2013, 10:41 AM
Right I think I have a problem, I can't help looking at safari's!!! So I have an al-star winging its way to me now hopefully and I have just seen a red safari with black clip and also a yellow safari with black clip for sale on eBay for £20 each! Is this a good price or should I restrain myself!! There is also a pink one on there at the moment currently at £3.50, though I'm sure this will go up!!

fountainpenkid
January 28th, 2013, 10:47 AM
If I'm not mistaken, the red and yellow ones with a black clip are quite collectable. I'm no expert on Lamys, but I'm pretty sure that's a good deal...I remember seeing eBay sales of them going for over $200!!

Best!

Toffer
January 28th, 2013, 10:52 AM
Yea I thought they were pretty collectable and they are buy it now so thought I may get them!! Do they ever have fakes or is it not a problem with the safari? Was also wondering if they could have just coloured a silver clip black?!

KrazyIvan
January 28th, 2013, 11:26 AM
Welcome to the dark side Toffer. To your question, I don't think I have ever seen or heard/read of complaints on a fake Safari. Fountain pens are relatively a small market now but the market is growing at a fast pace. It may be a problem in the future.

Bogon07
January 28th, 2013, 02:25 PM
Welcome to the dark side Toffer. To your question, I don't think I have ever seen or heard/read of complaints on a fake Safari. Fountain pens are relatively a small market now but the market is growing at a fast pace. It may be a problem in the future.

I think Toffer is worried these aren't genuine rare early editions but FrankenLamys made by swapping parts between pens.
In this case the black clip from a Charcoal Safari or Graphite Al-Star on a yellow or red safari.

There are some helpful threads over at FPN, where I see Toffer has already asked the same question.