PDA

View Full Version : Amber color on blue celluloid barrel

LucienPS
July 20th, 2016, 10:12 AM
Hi

I'm new to vintage FP's and have seen a couple of 1930's/40's celluloid pens that I'm thinking of acquiring (not within my means, of course!). One of them, an OMAS Lucens, has a very little ambering on an otherwise predominently blue barrel. Is this something to be worried about? Is the material deteriorating, perhaps? I actually like the effect...

Many thanks,
Lucien

jar
July 20th, 2016, 10:49 AM
Hi Lucien, welcome home. Pull up a stump and set a spell.

Yes, ambering usually shows deterioration and age but can also be many other things. If it is a lever filled pen it is likely cause by the sac outgassing sulphur or long term ink staining. Without much more information it's nearly impossible to tell if it is serious or not. If close physical examination shows cracking or crazing it's likely worrisome.

LucienPS
July 20th, 2016, 10:59 AM
Thanks for the welcome, Jar, and for your view on this. The pen is in Italy and I'm in N Herts, England, so on the tricky side. Given the price, I'll pass and look for something without potential problems. I guess I was hoping it might be just a normal and nothing to be worried about kinda thing :-) It is a very beautiful pen...

jar
July 20th, 2016, 11:10 AM
Thanks for the welcome, Jar, and for your view on this. The pen is in Italy and I'm in N Herts, England, so on the tricky side. Given the price, I'll pass and look for something without potential problems. I guess I was hoping it might be just a normal and nothing to be worried about kinda thing :-) It is a very beautiful pen...

It may well be perfectly normal. Celluloid does amber with age. Look at the window on this Sheaffer OS Balance.

http://www.fototime.com/F7F4DD8FEEB19E0/large.jpg

Originally it would have been nearly clear.

http://www.fototime.com/F82FD14D9AA8B14/large.jpg

You can also see some ambering on this Sheaffer Balance