PDA

View Full Version : Help me choose my first fountain pen!

garrinfraze
August 9th, 2016, 10:55 AM
Hey guys! My name is Garrin and I am new to fountain pens. My obsession with the beauty and sleekness of fountain pens through my obsession with watches, which I got into without researching first and bought some... Erm... less than great watches that have been horrible to try and sell. I don't want to make that same mistake with pens, so I have done some research, and would like to ask for a wee bit of help from some experts. I have found two pens that I really like that are close to my price range (<$40 US) and would like to hear some input from you guys about them and possibly some suggestions for other pens in my price range. The first is the Pilot Metropolitan and the second is the Lamy Safari.

I am looking at the fine nib versions of both of these, seeing as I have extremely small handwriting and it wouldn't be a great idea for me to have thick lines in my writing.

Another question I had was what type of ink would you reccomend I check out? I am really interested in colors that are very different from what I may see at school. For example bronze, or gold. Maybe a coppery red. Any reccomendations would be great!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

jar
August 9th, 2016, 12:18 PM
Welcome home. Pull up a stump and set a spell. Those are two nice pens.

Anne
August 9th, 2016, 12:49 PM
Welcome Garrin! I don't think you will regret purchasing those two pens. Maybe look into TWSBI and possibly an Extra Fine nib?
There are Sooo many choices and brands of ink to choose from. Diamine inks are nice/reasonably priced, and as far as goldish inks are concerned, the only one that I can think of now is from KWZ - a lot of people like that brand but I have yet to try them.
Good Luck and Have Fun with it all :)

Waski_the_Squirrel
August 9th, 2016, 04:10 PM