PDA

View Full Version : Favorite Permanent / Iron Gall Ink

laurielindly
August 15th, 2016, 07:35 AM
Hi all! I am new to pfgeeks and pretty new to fountain pens. I am looking for suggestions on an ink that I can use for journaling and as an everyday permanent/iron gall choice. I am not interested in black and it doesn't have to be office appropriate. Also if this helps, I will be using it in a modern sub $50 pen- either a Lamy safari or Kaweco Skyline sport. Thank you.

Silverbreeze
August 15th, 2016, 07:43 AM
KWZ

one of Noodler's Black Swan

If you like blue Liberty Elisyum

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Wile E Coyote
August 15th, 2016, 07:46 AM
Platinum or Sailor pigment inks.

Laura N
August 15th, 2016, 07:58 AM
KWZ Iron Gall #5 would be my first choice. I like blue, and this is a great color. I did a review of KWZ Iron Gall #5 here (https://fountainpenfollies.com/2016/01/07/ink-review-kwz-iron-gall-blue-5/), if you want to see some photos and read a little about it. If you surf around my blog, you'll also find reviews of some other KWZ iron gall inks, because KWZ has a number of great colors in iron gall besides blue. I'm partial to KWZ's iron gall greens and to Iron Gall Turquoise (https://fountainpenfollies.com/2016/03/12/ink-review-kwz-iron-gall-turquoise/) as well. For a steel nib pen, choose a lower maintenance ink, which almost all (but not all) KWZ iron gall inks have proved to be.

If you are in the US, you can get KWZ inks and samples from Vanness online. It's also available directly from KWZ in Poland.

Rohrer & Klinger make nice low-maintenance iron gall inks, too. And I personally like Pelikan Blue Black (and not for nothing I still have a few small bottles for sale on the classifieds at a low price). I would not recommend Diamine Register's Ink because I found it finicky and high maintenance.

laurielindly
August 15th, 2016, 08:37 AM
Laura-