PDA

View Full Version : Does the world need yet another ink distributor?

ChristianBertram
August 23rd, 2016, 12:54 PM
// This a repost from FPN. It was my first FPN post and this is my first FPGeeks post. I duplicated it here, because I was not able to find the right forum on FPN. And then - you are cool :P //

Hello FPN!

I don't know if this is the right place, but I would like the hear your opinions on this.
I have been getting into vintage pens and ink, the latest months. I've been thinking about the possibility of becoming an ink distributor. I'm a student, so it's not like I need to earn money to support myself. Because of this, I would think, that I could start pretty small, and still have good prices.
I live in Denmark, where there aren't really any big distributors. Theres a company selling Diamine inks, but that's basically it. But then again the FP market in Denmark is definitely not a big one, so I would be selling internationaly (especially Europe, I guess).

My idea was to invest in 80ml bottles of every Diamine ink (and the special ones) to sell as samples. I would then as soon as possible get some stock of the inks to sell. Later I could expand to more and more inks.

I don't need to earn a lot of money and I think it could be fun. But I don't know if this is actually an unrealistic idea. Maybe the international market is just too crowded or something?

What do you think? Could I fill an empty spot somehow? Or should I forget the idea?

I got this answer from fountainpagan on FPN

Diamine is distributed by a large number of distributers covering the world.

In Europe the Bung Box inks, among others, for exemple, are not distributed. If you want to start something, do it with the part of the market which is not covered.

Whatever you decide to do, good luck.

It seems interesting to try to distribute some uncommon inks in europe. Do you have any input? :)

Jon Szanto
August 23rd, 2016, 01:02 PM