PDA

View Full Version : Regular fountain pen calligraphy

Ayla
February 10th, 2013, 09:29 PM
Since I am very new to calligraphy, I had a couple questions

1) Can calligraphy be done with just a "normal" or "average" fountain pen. No special nibs ect
2) And if it can be done, what fonts would you suggest?

KrazyIvan
February 11th, 2013, 09:30 AM
Not an expert at all but I believe calligraphy will require at least an italic nib.

BikerBabe
February 11th, 2013, 02:42 PM
I think you can do calligraphy with a fountain pen, all it takes is practise.
Look up "fountain pen calligraphy" on Google, you'll get plenty of results.

magnesium68
February 11th, 2013, 06:58 PM
If you want to write copperplate or spencerian style get a flex pen.

peterpen53
February 12th, 2013, 02:58 AM
Literally, calligraphy means "beautiful writing". You can do that with a ballpoint pen, if you're so inclined. It comes in many forms, some of which, but certainly not all, require an edged nib, like an italic, or a flex nib like the previous poster says. But, as an example, you could very well write in the italic style with a round nib, I do that practically every day.
Ken Fraser (www.caliken.co.uk) has samples in many different styles on his website. Just prepare yourself for a shock.

Edit: as an aside, a calligraphy set with a pen and a few different size italic nibs need not be expensive at all. I taught myself italic with a Sheaffer No-Nonsense pen with three nibs back in the day that currently sells for $20 at Amazon and there are other similar pens.

John the Monkey
February 12th, 2013, 03:42 AM
I've done a sort of faux calligraphy with a Waterman Phileas, making props for my local theatrical society (a set of title deeds that were the macguffin for a murder mystery). The letters needed to be reasonably visible from the audience, and I had no nib wide enough for that!

I outlined the letters with a 3H pencil, and filled in with the Phileas, using Diamine Oxblood.

KrazyIvan