PDA

View Full Version : Hello

alarsen77
October 25th, 2016, 01:26 PM
Hello. My name is Alex and I am new to fountain pens. I just received my first fountain pen which is the Karas Kustoms Ink Fountain Pen in Black with the Copper grip and a Medium Bock Stainless Nib. I have had a chance to write a little bit with it on some regular printer paper and I have noticed that the line it lays down is much broader than I thought it would have been and is very inky. Much more than my rollerball using a schmidt p8126. I have to say my handwriting is also not the greatest either. So I am sure I have a lot to get used to. But I am wondering if I should have gone with a fine nib to start with and get used to a fountain pen and the light touch that they require?

WmEdwards
October 25th, 2016, 03:17 PM
Welcome Alex! The wider line "may" be from the paper you are using. Is it feathering? Or, the nib may be a little too wet for your writing style, which can be remedied with a nib adjustment or a little "drier" ink. Again, Welcome!

jar
October 25th, 2016, 03:30 PM
Welcome home. Pull up a stump and set a spell.

alarsen77
October 25th, 2016, 03:45 PM
Thank you for the welcome. I am using the J. Herbin Perle Noire cartridges. I have some Pilot Iroshizuku samples on the way to try out in the converter.

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

alarsen77
October 25th, 2016, 03:46 PM
Also it is just basic paper. I have a Leuchtturm 1917 notebook on the way with the ink samples as well. It looks like it is feathering just a little bit on the paper I am using but nothing extreme. It has gotten better as I have been using it. I think I just need to adjust my writing to a fountain pen.

Hawk
October 25th, 2016, 06:50 PM
Welcome.

Frank
October 25th, 2016, 09:01 PM
:welcome:

carlos.q
October 26th, 2016, 04:58 AM
Welcome to FPGeeks!

I think I just need to adjust my writing to a fountain pen.