PDA

View Full Version : Flow from Jowo 1.1 #5 and #6

Woody
February 3rd, 2017, 07:58 AM
I'm always having to adjust the Jowo stubs. Not a complaint but most the of 1.1 run a little dry - the flow can't keep up with the nib. Anyone else do a DIY on the Jowo? Also I wonder about the Franklin SIG nibs - I wonder if there flow tested at all?

-Bill-

DaveT
February 5th, 2017, 07:30 AM
I have noticed the same thing on the #5 1.1mm. But surprisingly the #5 1.4mm seem to write real well.

I can't figure out why the 1.4 is more consistent than the 1.1.

Woody
February 5th, 2017, 08:28 AM
Dave .. I usually check the gap between the feed and nib first, then take apart the unit and loosen it up. A couple of times I've adjusted the feed channel as well. In general the flow isn't there to produce a smooth writing experience. I don't think I've got a 1.1 that didn't need adjusting. I've got no experience with the 1.4. I haven't compared the jowo nibs from different etailors. I'm wondering if FC checks their nibs for flow, the SIG nibs for example.

Woody
February 7th, 2017, 06:00 AM
Then adjust for the kind of ink used. Forgot that. Dryer ink needs better slow.

HoLmeslice
February 10th, 2017, 07:04 PM
I currently have a handful of Jowo nibs which were a bit dryer than I prefer, and I was just about to give up on my 1.1 stub and Masuyama BCI. Honestly, the idea for doing some tuning myself didn't even cross my mind, until I saw this thread. So, I submit my hearty thanks to everyone involved; I now have a group of nibs which writes much more consistently than before.

Woody
February 21st, 2017, 06:18 AM
I have noticed the same thing on the #5 1.1mm. But surprisingly the #5 1.4mm seem to write real well.

I can't figure out why the 1.4 is more consistent than the 1.1.

Good question there. That wouldn't make sense unless the nib / and or / the feed is slightly different, and not in a manufacturing way.

Woody
February 21st, 2017, 06:27 AM