PDA

View Full Version : Overwhelmed with ink choices

Spideysgirl
April 4th, 2017, 12:38 PM
As a newbie, I'm overwhelmed by all the inks on the market as well as the many shades. I don't even know what samples to buy to start.

Lady Onogaro
April 4th, 2017, 12:48 PM
I understand the problem. I used to enjoy Goulet's Ink Drop because it took the problem of making choices out of my hands. Now that they don't do it anymore, I miss it.

BayesianPrior
April 4th, 2017, 12:51 PM
My advice? Start with the classics. Whatever you can find locally. Parker, Pelikan, Waterman, Sheaffer, Cross, etc. Get a blue, get a black, and get something fun. These inks should be cheap enough that a couple of 30-50ml bottle won't break the bank.

If you want more precise recommendations, I'm sure other members could oblige.

My view of the best of the bunch (for what it's worth):

Pelikan: Black, Green
Sheaffer: Red
Waterman: All of them are great
Parker: Blue-Black

kevmid
April 4th, 2017, 01:22 PM
I would always go the ink sample route to start with, don't buy bottles until you are happy with an ink. If you are in a country where a retailer offers samples then have a look at what they offer. If they offer many then work out what colours you would like to try. How many you buy depends on budget and how frequently/much you write.

Personally I started with colours and worked out how many I wanted to try. Then I looked at a retailer site like Goulet in the US for example (no affiliation) as you can compare different colours and I saw which ones looked most attractive and that I could afford a bottle of, and picked those samples. Pick the ones you like the look of, look at a few reviews of all time favourite inks and see which ones are recommended and if you like the look of them.

inklord
April 4th, 2017, 02:48 PM