PDA

View Full Version : Ink for Checks

GiaSophia
April 10th, 2017, 11:19 PM
I am fairly new to fountain pens and wanted to get thoughts on what type of inks should be used for writing checks. I know most people probably pay their bills online, but do you need to use iron gall or waterproof inks on checks? Any recommendations?

FredRydr
April 11th, 2017, 03:20 AM
I use iron gall ink. I have three in my ink box: https://fpgeeks.com/forum/showthread.php/238-Diamine-Registrar-s-Ink?p=198925&viewfull=1#post198925

Fred

carlos.q
April 11th, 2017, 05:10 AM
I use MB Permanent Blue which is ISO 14145-2 certified for permanence. It also shades beautifully! :thumb:

Scooby921
April 11th, 2017, 05:52 AM
I use MB Permanent Blue which is ISO 14145-2 certified for permanence. It also shades beautifully! :thumb:

Same here. I keep MB Perm Blue in a pen for anything requiring an "official" signature.

FredRydr
April 11th, 2017, 05:59 AM
Goodness, I bought a bottle of MB permanent blue, and it's been unopened for a couple of years!

Fred

Paddler
April 11th, 2017, 06:26 AM
I use one of several Noodler's bulletproof inks. Upper Ganges Blue is the current favorite.

grainweevil
April 11th, 2017, 06:47 AM
Can't remember the last time I had call to write a cheque, but for permanence I'm a fan of Platinum Carbon Black.

I might have suggested Koh-i-noor Document Blue, but that's a ink for Czechs. ;)

inklord
April 11th, 2017, 07:44 AM
I use either Sailor "Sei-Boku" (a slightly tealish blue pigmented ink) or Rohrer & Klingner "Salix" (a very well behaved iron gall ink).
Both are conservative enough for business, but also exciting to use for the FP aficionado.
Both are also not only well behaved (though checks are generally made from high-quality paper) even on the poorest of papers, but kind to your fountain pen and R&K Salix is very easy to clean from pens as long as it has not dried. That being said, all of the inks mentioned by other members above are equally valid choices.

FredRydr