PDA

View Full Version : Anybody doing NaPoWriMo?

R.A. Stewart
April 12th, 2017, 12:25 PM
Oil, that is. Black gold. Texas tea.

Er, I mean, National Poetry Writing Month (http://www.napowrimo.net/), that is. Poem a day. Thirty days.

I spaced out and am, hmm, twelve days behind. Got some catching up to do. :blink:

~Rich

TSherbs
April 12th, 2017, 05:28 PM
I am a teacher running a poetry contest this month, but I can't crank out a poem a day. I wrote two for my class, but that was it.

R.A. Stewart
April 13th, 2017, 10:00 PM
Yes, it's a really difficult thing to do. I'm not managing it. It does seem, if I can get started for a few days, it becomes easier to keep up. And to be sure, I have to stipulate (as I mentioned in another conversation) that I am *not* going to worry about quality, if I do that level of quantity.

R.A. Stewart
April 28th, 2017, 10:58 AM
For what it's worth, having a lot of catching up to do, I wrote 14 yesterday afternoon. :bounce:

Short ones, of course. Awful, of course. Nothing to do with any of the daily prompts on the NaPoWriMo site, of course. But hey, numbers!

If I do 14 more today, I'll be caught up.

Better a specious accomplishment than none at all, sez I.

inklord
April 28th, 2017, 04:21 PM
Haiku or haiku-like little three-liners have been my way of journaling for years. I'm not claiming originality or high quality here, but it hones my senses in paying attention to the quirky little goings-on all around me that can be captured in three lines.

R.A. Stewart
April 28th, 2017, 11:45 PM
Did it. Fourteen little mostly three- to five-liners. :)

Sad poemlets to fit my mood of the last couple of days, and definitely nothing worth copying here. But I am, technically, caught up for April.

Right now I'm just dashing off this reply before going to bed, but I will come back later with a recommendation for a writing forum that I've found very useful in the past, but that is now, alas, almost uninhabited.

R.A. Stewart