PDA

View Full Version : Partial fill of ink chamber in converter

Spideysgirl
May 8th, 2017, 08:00 PM
When I fill a pen I can't get the chamber of the converter to fill all the way no matter what I do. I am working with samples at the moment since I am a newbie and trying different inks to find one's I like.

Jerome Tarshis
May 8th, 2017, 09:33 PM
That is a normal experience. Imagine that you have X-ray vision, and you can see through the materials of your pen. The converter is empty. It is attached to the place where it fits your pen. Between the opening of the converter and the surface of the ink in the bottle, what do you see? That's right, you see a little column of air.

When you begin sucking up what's below the mouth of the converter, the first thing you suck up is that column of air. Only then do you begin sucking up ink.

There are various ways to try to get around this. Others will recommend them. My advice is to get used to that bit of air. When you run out of ink, fill the converter again. This is not a calamity. It is only an everyday exasperation, to the extent that you choose to be exasperated. Sometimes my irascibility helps take my mind off other problems. Sometimes not.

Jon Szanto
May 8th, 2017, 10:06 PM
Two ways to go:

Just get used to a little air and not worry about it. If you are doing ink sampling, it isn't like you have to write pages and pages and demand a 100% full converter.