PDA

View Full Version : Pilot VP compared to TWSBI

gylo
April 20th, 2013, 03:45 PM
I am new to serious FP stuff, used a Parker sonnet for signing stuff for 20 years but only just appreciated writing after a serious reliance on Tech, anyway I have a fine nib on a the pilot and the TWSBI mini both look good but the pilot feels scratchy. If I buy a medium on the pilot will it be thin enough for my writing but more pleasurable and therefore similar to the TWSBI F nib and the Parker F nib. Any views?
I love the pilot for quick notes ability and the TWSBI mini for its portability. can't win really!

snedwos
April 20th, 2013, 04:26 PM
The Pilot nib shouldn't be scratchy! They have a good reputation. Where did you get it from?

But also bear in mind that it is an Asian fine, which will be finer than a European fine (TWSBI, while Asian, uses German nibs), so a medium will be about equivalent.

fountainpenkid
April 20th, 2013, 07:33 PM
I reaaaaallly wish someone would make a nice rang of capless pens with good filling systems and ergonomics at an affordable price...

Jon Szanto
April 20th, 2013, 08:09 PM
I reaaaaallly wish someone would make a nice rang of capless pens with good filling systems and ergonomics at an affordable price...
Yeah, and I want free ice cream for life with no commensurate weight gain. Neither of us is going to get what we want.

KrazyIvan
April 20th, 2013, 09:10 PM
I have the medium and it is more like a fine. A bit dry but that can be adjusted.

snedwos
April 21st, 2013, 04:48 AM

TWSBI Click? If it ever happens?

snedwos
April 21st, 2013, 04:49 AM

TWSBI Click? If it ever happens?

I don't see how it could be anything other than C/C, other than maybe an aerometric, and I'd prefer a good squeeze converter to a permanent aerometric thingy.

fountainpenkid
April 21st, 2013, 07:25 AM