PDA

View Full Version : What keeps you excited about pens?

Spideysgirl
June 23rd, 2017, 10:13 AM
I'm still a newbie but that keeps me excited about pens is the ink. There seems to be an endless amount of colors. It's mind blowing but exciting.

Marsilius
June 23rd, 2017, 10:19 AM
Ink and Nib and good paper (tied in 1st place).
Comfortable pen (2nd place).
Pretty or cool looking pen (3rd place).
Cool design themes like pens inspired by trains, planes, and skyscrapers (added and ongoing pleasure).

RocketRyan
June 23rd, 2017, 10:40 AM
Currently it's trying different nibs, but inks are a constant wonder.

Kaputnik
June 23rd, 2017, 06:42 PM
I don't know about excited, but I've realized that I really like to write, like to write by hand, and that the different characteristics of fountain and dip pen nibs add an extra interest to the process.

Not so much inks, although I do enjoy the variety.

Empty_of_Clouds
June 23rd, 2017, 06:51 PM
As someone who has found it nearly impossible to match accessibility with reasonable (not bargain) prices, I have found myself stalled. It is unlikely that I'll go hunting again. Never say never I suppose, but I wouldn't bet on it. I tried the custom idea, however that comes with extraordinary wait times for nice pens with bog standard nibs, pen models that are usually too short and/or don't post, absurd price hikes for minor changes to existing pens, and a degree of preciousness on the part of the makers that simply does not exist with the larger pen companies.

There's one, maybe two, pens that I could conceivably add to my pen case at the expense of selling others. Again though, buying with confidence is the biggest problem for me, as I have none left. Edit: unlike some I cannot afford to simply experiment with expensive pens.

Inks are interesting, and there are some stunning colours and behaviours available. And decent paper, journals and accessories, keep me writing.

dfo
June 23rd, 2017, 09:46 PM