PDA

View Full Version : Why I Like FP Geeks.

thagbert
April 23rd, 2013, 01:56 PM
Greetings,

I am a noob to fountain pens. When I started, I looked around on the Interwebs to find a community and resources to learn more and immerse myself in the world of fountain pens. I looked at the elephant (gorilla) in the room; FPN, and was instantly overwhelmed. Waaayyy too much information with FP overlords overseeing everything. Rather intimidating for a noob.

I then found FP Geeks and felt instantly at home. Everyone was very friendly and ready with advice and information. No one used jargon or abbreviations. Everyone spoke plainly and was very patient. It did not feel like an exclusive club, but more of a casual environment where beginners could learn about fountain pens without feeling totally clueless or intimidated.

In the face of new members coming in, I hope this community can retain its casual feel and friendliness. I am grateful to be a part of this group and the individuals that make it what it is.

Thanks,
thagbert

Special thanks to KrazyIvan!

KrazyIvan
April 23rd, 2013, 03:15 PM
[Auto disclaimer bot] Me? I didn't do it, nobody saw me do it, you can't prove anything. :p [/Auto disclaimer bot]

Seriously though, I am not sure what I did but I am happy you feel that way. You are welcome.

fountainpenkid
April 23rd, 2013, 05:31 PM
Great to hear that you are liking it here! I agree, FPN has become very "busy" and it is very hard to follow anything unless you use the "my content" thing. There is a bit more hostility there as well. I selfishly hope that this forum doesn't grow as large as FPN for that reason.

jor412
April 24th, 2013, 01:35 AM
FP Geeks really does have a relaxed atmosphere which I likewise appreciate. And it seems to me that members moderate themselves and each other, which so far has been working out quite well.

southpaw52
April 24th, 2013, 12:02 PM
Glad you here and enjoying your time here.

drgoretex
April 24th, 2013, 03:39 PM