PDA

View Full Version : 149 or 146

I like mango pudding
May 1st, 2013, 12:29 PM
So, being a newbie here and seeing that I need to seriously add to my pen line up (compared to some of you!), I've decided to get yet another MB. Originally I thought the 149 was THE pen to get. I recall one of my colleagues brought it in and I was in awe of it. But then I saw the 146 and figured, it wasn't so fat and cigar looking. It is a good size, and complements the size of my Boheme. BUT, the 149 is the the iconic pen to get that started the MB fanaticism. Yet, on the other hand, the MB star seems so minute on the 149 cap, it almost appears subservient to the rest of the pen.

So, should it be the 149 or the 146? What say you geeks??

heraclitus682
May 1st, 2013, 12:32 PM
Both. You'll end up getting both at some point anyways.

I like mango pudding
May 1st, 2013, 12:39 PM
Both. You'll end up getting both at some point anyways.

eeks!!! I KNEW IT!!!!!

Someone would eventually say that!!!

heraclitus682
May 1st, 2013, 12:40 PM
I personally like the feel of the older 149's with the plastic piston threads. Great pen there.

Trivan
May 1st, 2013, 01:10 PM
I too had this choice 2 months ago, I went with the 149. I have a Visconti HS and I really like that it is fat and very comfortable in the hand. Thin pens are a dime a dozen, but an excellent quality fat pen is more difficult to find.

carlos.q
May 1st, 2013, 01:15 PM
Maybe you should go to a MB boutique and try out both sizes. I have a 146 and find it very large for my taste, so I guess I won't be looking for a 149. (Emphasis on "my taste")

Laura N
May 1st, 2013, 01:19 PM
I agree that you should try them out. I used a 149 with a great nib, but the pen was too large for me. The 146 is not small either, but it feels much better in my hands.

I like mango pudding
May 1st, 2013, 01:47 PM