PDA

View Full Version : Diamine Red Dragon

carpedavid
September 7th, 2010, 05:29 AM
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4141/4960631921_ff350868b0.jpg

I love red inks, and Diamine Red Dragon has just won a place in my top three. I’ve had a lot of experience with J. Herbin, Iroshizuku, and Noodler’s inks, but, up until recently, had no experience with Diamine inks. I’d read many flattering things about them online, so I figured that I should give them a shot. The lovely folks at Diamine were nice enough to send over six bottles for review, and Red Dragon is the first of them.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4126/4960628855_f58dd26b94.jpg

To appeal to my tastes, an ink brand has to possess a certain set of qualities. They need to have bold, interesting colors with moderate to good shading; they should be resistant to feathering; and they need to be quick to dry on the paper I most often use them with. Noodler’s inks are often bold and interesting, but take forever to dry on higher quality paper. J Herbin inks possess tremendous shading potential, but are often watery and prone to feathering. Thus far, Diamine seems to possess all of the qualities I've mentioned.

Red Dragon is a newly released color from Diamine – one that is just beginning to show up in US retailers. It is a fantastic orange red (as opposed to a pink red or purple red) with earthy overtones. It is aptly named, as it is bold and powerful, yet dignified in character. It is slightly darker than J Herbin 1670 – which I would describe as its closest competitor – and is similarly highly saturated. It has a moderate level of shading – enough to be appealing to those who like shading, but not so much to be distracting to those who prefer a solid line.