PDA

View Full Version : Drawings

Marsilius
May 31st, 2013, 07:24 PM
Ok, I have gotten my nerve up. I started drawing in 2007 after a long hiatus. I had just started a new job as a prof, had finished a semester, and was feeling stressed. So I went to the Fountain Pen Shop in Monrovia and bought an old pen from the 1920s. Having gotten some really helpful tips from Ethernautrix (Thanks!), I will scan some more drawings and put them on Flickr soon.

Below is the first drawing with that pen (using a Golden Rule BHCR with either Quink or Noodler's Black on Strathmore Cold Press Watercolor Paper), and it reflects my state of mind at the time. There is a smudge of water on the bottom right corner, but maybe that is appropriate since he is standing on a liquid floor.

ethernautrix
May 31st, 2013, 07:47 PM
Cool, Marsilius!

More, please.

Marsilius
May 31st, 2013, 08:21 PM
OK, here are three drawings I did in the late 1980s, before my hiatus. They are NOT drawn with fountain pens.
They are titled: Stagpipes, Porcupipes, and Flute à bec (inside musical humor from my faux dictionary of musical instruments, Organographiti). And by now, you know what I play. After this, I'll work on the scanner and Flickr.

DGG
June 6th, 2013, 12:48 AM
Great drawings Marsilius!!!! Look forward to seeing more of them. I've been sketching recently from interesting images that I find and want to grapple with (mainly online). Nothing as inventive as your drawings but good for a distraction while studying for the bar. Hahahaha. I've been drawing the past few days with a white Lamy cp1 from the late eighties (medium steel nib) with Lamy black ink. Here's one from today.

Kudzu
June 6th, 2013, 01:21 AM
Wow! You all are good! (And I include you in that, too, Ether. :) )

siewhongwong
June 6th, 2013, 10:33 AM
Fantastic!!

Marsilius
June 6th, 2013, 03:16 PM