PDA

View Full Version : Advice for the uninitiated

theolu
June 5th, 2013, 07:40 PM
So I'm relatively new to fountain pens. I've been methodically working my way from a Pilot Petit1 to a Sailor Highace Neo and am now onto a Pilot Prera. One of the main reasons I started with fountain pens is that I'm fascinated by the ink options - fascinated and intimidated. So far, I've used Pilot Blue-Black, Sailor Jentle Blue-Black and Noodler's Bulletproof Black (eyedroppered in the Petit1). I'm really wanting to try some new inks and was hoping to get some ideas/advice on the best way to go about it. I had planned on just running a bunch of samples through the Petit1 until I found something worth buying a bottle of but I'm not sure where to start. The only ink I could find any kind of consensus about was the Noodler's Black.

My question is whether it makes sense to tryout inks with my worst pen. Should I be sampling with the Prera or Sailor, or should I get a different pen altogether just for trying inks? If so, any recommendations? Is there a better way of going about this? Should I be establishing baseline or reference inks for the colors I plan to use?

I'd also love ink recommendations. I'm trying to find some blues - I prefer deep, dark blues and blue-blacks - that behave as well on cheap paper (i.e. lowest bidder office copy paper and legal pads) as the Noodler's Black.

Thanks in advance for the advice!

gweddig
June 5th, 2013, 08:53 PM
Sounds like a job for the Goulet Pens inkdrop program.

Laura N
June 5th, 2013, 08:59 PM
Try out the inks with the pens in which you plan to use them. Though most inks work fine with most pens, you'll find some pen-ink combinations that work well and some that don't.

I'm not a big user of black ink, but my favorites are Aurora Black and J. Herbin Perle Noire. I really don't think there are bad ones, however.