PDA

View Full Version : Parker pencil ???

Annie
June 18th, 2013, 11:46 AM
In the scary lot of pens I bought, is this. But is it a 51 or a 61? It measures 5.25" and is cap actuated. Can't find a date code. Any help on an ID would the great.

gweddig
June 18th, 2013, 02:57 PM
Hi Annie,
I'm no expert, just a pen nerd chilling while my daughter is napping.
From looking at the photos at the Museum (http://www.jonathanveley.com./index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=60&Itemid=68) I would guess a "51". That would be for the US version, do you know if it's US or UK? All of the 61s seem to have a smaller nosecone. The 61 jewels are smaller than on the "51" if you have one to compare.

--greg

Annie
June 18th, 2013, 03:10 PM
This is a UK made pencil and I get what you mean about the cone being smaller on the 61. Are we comparing jewels between 51/61 on pencils? Pens? Can you tell I know less than zip about pencils?

gweddig
June 18th, 2013, 03:19 PM
Based on the link I included I assumed the "51" pencil.

in the section on the 61 (http://www.jonathanveley.com./index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=60&Itemid=68) Jonathan says:

"The pencils were just a bit skinnier, particularly at the top end. Top jewels are significantly smaller."

I don't have any "51" pencil's in stock to measure at the moment.

Annie
June 18th, 2013, 03:43 PM
Based on the link I included I assumed the "51" pencil.

in the section on the 61 (http://www.jonathanveley.com./index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=60&Itemid=68) Jonathan says:

"The pencils were just a bit skinnier, particularly at the top end. Top jewels are significantly smaller."

I don't have any "51" pencil's in stock to measure at the moment.

Thanks for this. A look at Jonathan's pictures tells me that it's a 51 as the cone on the 61 is significantly different to the one I have.

Twopens
May 1st, 2014, 11:01 AM