PDA

View Full Version : Syracuse NY

Nurk2
May 21st, 2020, 10:55 AM
Hey all. Joined today.

My FP journey started as a graduate student. Needed a pen realized that at the bookstore I could get a "cool" fountain pen and a couple cartridges for not much more than a decent ballpoint.

It was plastic, solid orange, no tapering or rounding, including the cap (flat on top). That pen's been lost over the years. Seriously, if anyone can identify a cheap bookstore fountain pen from a few decades back and point me in the right direction, I'd be forever in your debt.

In the rest of the world, I'm a professional guitarist with a day job. I know you're thinking that FPs are an expensive hobby, and, I suppose, after awhile, it could be, but start shopping for pro-level gear and you'll quickly be disabused of that notion. However, one of the nice things about music is, if you do it right, it pays for itself and then some.

The thing I like about this hobby (bought a new Lilliput in 2010 to scratch an itch, and am now ramping up a little in the past month having not bought a pen since them) is it's relatively cheap, and there's lots of stuff (pens, nibs, inks, papers) to mess with. It's a nice distraction.

Presently, this is it, with a couple Safaris on the way for me and my better half (also a musician):

https://i.imgur.com/e2mppc9.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/nlgEUj3m.jpg

jar
May 21st, 2020, 11:10 AM
Welcome home. Pull up a stump and set a spell.

azkid
May 21st, 2020, 03:20 PM
Welcome! Those are all great pens. I totally agree this doesn't have to be an expensive hobby. I am no musician but I know that stuff gets super pricey. Anyway glad to hear ya. :)

Ron Z
May 21st, 2020, 04:04 PM
Syracuse.... lived there for 32 years, moved in 2014. In January of course. When else would a Syracuse resident move south?