PDA

View Full Version : Dumb question about ED and piston fillers

amk
February 3rd, 2021, 07:05 AM
Okay, I know that eyedroppers blob and blurt and barf ink all over the place when they're getting empty-ish.

I know that pens with a sac, cartridge, or converter don't, because there is a gap between the barrel which you're warming up with your fingers and the bit that holds the ink.

But why don't piston-fillers burp, then?

You may have guessed I was a humanities student so the science may be very simple for all I know, but I like to know why my Pelikans and my eyedroppered Nauka behave differently.

fountainpenkid
February 3rd, 2021, 07:45 AM
Burping is caused by air expansion in the ink reservoir pushing ink out in the only direction it can go--the nib/feed. So a large part of the difference you're wondering about is because a piston filler's capacity is less than you might think: the average 1.5-2mL (today often less) pales in comparison with the 5mL or more an eyedropper might hold. The less volume, the less air-space there will be as the pen becomes empty. With less air-space, there is less air to expand upon heating and push out ink. Another way to address the air expansion problem is, as you were thinking with sacs and converters, through insulation--making the heating process itself slower.
Obviously, modern feeds, with their many fins, are designed to mitigate the burping effect by trapping the ink that does get pushed out using capillary action (the higher viscosity and surface tension also has a role here). If you're talking vintage eyedroppers, many were made before this advancement in feed design, so the burp tendency created by their large air-space is exacerbated by their burp-incompetent feeds.

Ole Juul
February 3rd, 2021, 08:09 AM
I have two pens with sacs that will happily burp if I don't watch it. ... Just sayin'. :)

Empty_of_Clouds
February 3rd, 2021, 01:25 PM