PDA

View Full Version : Hi from Dorset, England

Keith E Bartlett
January 19th, 2012, 10:42 AM
Hi, I'm Keith Bartlett from Dorset, England. I've been a member for
a few weeks but I've only just got round to introducing myself.
I am a drummer and drum teacher in some of the schools in my
area but my hobby is collecting nice fountain pens and have done
since I was at school many years ago (in the 1960's)
Although I only teach drums in ten different schools during the week,
I have noticed over the years that pupils hardly ever use fountain pens
or even have any interest in them which is a shame. In my days at school
we weren't allowed to bring a Biro into school and we were encouraged
to use the best quality fountain pen that we or our parents could afford.
My pupils think I'm a bit strange when they see me writing with a nice
Parker or Cross or whatever I happen to take for that day. Never mind,
at least they end up quite good drummers.

Tracy Lee
January 19th, 2012, 06:31 PM
Hi Keith! I can say I have had at least one teenager say " what IS that" when I pulled out a fountain pen. Made me sad. But we can just keep trying, right? Plenty of us geeks to spread the word. As a drummer, what has been the coolest bit of drumming you have done over the years?

Sent from my Xoom using Tapatalk

eriquito
January 20th, 2012, 12:30 PM
Hi Keith!

Very, very nice to have you here!

It is sad that fountain pens seem to be mostly unknown to today's youngsters and young adults. Unfortunately, what with computers, cell phones, email, etc., I think writing in general (with any sort of pen and paper) is turning more into an art form than a popular and viable means of communication. I don't mind too much. I've always wanted to be an artist - so if being able to write a letter makes me such, that's cool =)

Quick Aside: Tracy Lee, don't miss this weeks Geed of the Week Philip Wang (TWSBI). He races his Ducati Monster 696 in his spare time.

=) Eric

Keith E Bartlett