PDA

View Full Version : Condensation (Lamy Vista)

BK_Starkey
January 24th, 2012, 02:38 PM
Has anyone else has this problem? After writing for a little while or having the pen in my pocket, I notice condensation in the feed.
I have had this problem before with this pen but thought I didn't let it dry out well enough. This time, however, it has been weeks since I cleaned it out and allowed it to dry. Is there something wrong or is this normal?

BK_Starkey
January 31st, 2012, 11:51 AM
Nothing huh? No one? Or am I a dummy and is this normal?

klpeabody
January 31st, 2012, 12:27 PM
First of all, I'm not sure if you are referring to condensation or nib creep.

I am not an expert, but the only time I have seen anything like condensation is after I've been out and about in the cold with the pen, and then attempt to use the pen indoors where it is warm. When I take the pen out to use it, I see condensation on the nib. Do you live in a cold environment? Are you storing your pen somewhere that is cold?

John the Monkey
January 31st, 2012, 02:40 PM
Hi Bk, I notice a little bit around the lower part of the grip in my Al-Star (which has a dark coloured, but still transparent grip section). I've not noticed any in the Vista, although I only use Lamy blue in that & haven't flushed it as yet.

Does it affect the flow? Make the pen leak?

klpeabody
January 31st, 2012, 04:43 PM
Ever since this reading this thread this afternoon, I've been thinking about this. I'm just curious as to what is causing it.

BK: when you clean the pen, do you let the pen dry with the nib facing down? I've noticed that drops of H20 can get trapped in there, and can actually stay there for quite a while. I'm wondering if this may be contributing to the problem. What you might try next time you clean it, is line a glass or cup with a paper towel, and gently put the pen nib-down (without the cap on) into the glass, then leave it there overnight or for a day or so.

Pinkys.Brain
January 31st, 2012, 06:50 PM