PDA

View Full Version : Best entry level fountain pen?

Ngascoyne
January 25th, 2012, 11:52 AM
Hi I'm very new to the world of fountain pens and I'm a little confused on which option would be best for me. I'm left handed and currently use Mont Blanc rollerball and ball point pens. I'm sure that I can get a great pen for a lot less than a Mont Blanc would cost but would I be disappointed and end up spending more. Can anyone please help.

---
I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=53.142928,-1.184798

eriquito
January 25th, 2012, 06:49 PM
Hiya Ngascoyne!

You can't go wrong with either of these two pens:

Lamy Safari (or a Lamy Al-Star if you like an aluminum body)
and/or
TWSBI Diamond 540

As for being left handed, I just read (yesterday) here in the forums that Waterman Havana is great for lefties because it dries quickly.

Good luck - keep us posted!

=) Eric
Son of Ragnar

Pinkys.Brain
January 25th, 2012, 07:07 PM
When going for a Lamy Safari, you could go for a mk nib. Not too broad, but still rather smooth. It also better/smoother than a normal medium nib in my opinion if you want to use the backside for a finer line. And for its price of admission (under $20) you cannot go wrong. If you afterwards get the feeling that fountain pens are just not your thing you will not have lost much money. And the option to get cheap extra nibs that you can change yourself should not be overlooked.

As for the Waterman Havana: I really recommend the ink as it dries fast; but it is brown, so you might want to use a more "classic" color (blue or black). The normal blue Lamy ink cartridge that should come with the pen should also work, depending on how you write (underhand or overhand/hook).